Early Childhood Voices 2022

Conference Welcome

John McDonald, Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts and Education

Early Childhood Interdisciplinary Research Group and friends

ECV2022 Co-chairs

Acknowledgment of Country

Early Childhood Voices Conference 2022

The Early Childhood Voices Conference 2022 (ECV2022) is a multidisciplinary international conference providing a platform to share research about innovative methods, theories and partnerships with children, families and practitioners that supports social justice during early childhood and within the early childhood sector. ECV2022 was organised by the Charles Sturt University Early Childhood Interdisciplinary Research Group as an opportunity to present research in a virtual online space.

Researchers and post-graduate students were invited to submit abstracts to share their work on innovations to improve the lives of children, families and practitioners during early childhood (generally birth-8 years) and within the early childhood sector. Papers employing qualitative and/or quantitative methods, reviews (e.g., scoping and systematic reviews) and scholarly theoretical papers were welcomed. All abstracts were peer reviewed by the ECV2022 Scientific Committee and authors of accepted abstracts submitted online presentations.

ECV2022 is online and asynchronous. There is no registration fee and no fees to present or view the presentations due to Charles Sturt University’s motto “For the public good”. The conference was held from 5th to 9th December 2022. Presentations will remain online via YouTube. The presentations are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License to indicate that adaptations or commercial use of the presentations are not allowed.

Conference Proceedings Book

Keynote Speakers

brogoff
1. Young children’s learning by observing and pitching in

Professor Barbara Rogoff
University of California Santa Cruz, USA

Christina Siry
2. Resource-rich perspectives on children’s embodied engagement in science inquiry

Professor Christina Siry
University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Bernhardt and Stemberger pic
3. Research in diverse linguistic and cultural contexts

Emeritus Professor Barbara May Bernhardt and Emeritus Professor Joe Stemberger,
University of British Columbia, Canada

Chontel's image
4. Valuing Indigenous peoples and their health and wellbeing in early childcare services

Dr Chontel Gibson
Australia

Harrison v2 pic
5. Learning from and with children through drawing

Professor Linda J. Harrison
Macquarie University, Australia

neilsen-hewett pic
6. Innovations in early childhood: Understanding and responding to children’s needs through effective assessment

A/ Professor Cathrine Neilsen-Hewett
University of Wollongong, Australia

Yarning Circles

These virtual gatherings via Zoom were facilitated by conference organisers (5-9 December 2022) to provide an opportunity for participants to expand on their experiences of the presentations relating to each conference theme. One of the aims was for participants to collaborate and hopefully begin new research journeys, or to continue and grow existing collaborations.  

Presentations

By Topics

  • All
  • Children’s voices
  • Communication
  • Families’ voices
  • Indigenous voices
  • Innovation
  • Keynotes
  • Leadership
  • Presentations
  • Professionals’ voices
  • Rural communities
  • Wellbeing
  • Workforce
All
  • All
  • Children’s voices
  • Communication
  • Families’ voices
  • Indigenous voices
  • Innovation
  • Keynotes
  • Leadership
  • Presentations
  • Professionals’ voices
  • Rural communities
  • Wellbeing
  • Workforce

264 – Positive outcomes for allied health professionals: Working together to support children with multifaceted needs

Michelle Brown, ORS Group, Australia (Michelle.Brown@orsgroup.com.au) Siana Heath, ORS Group, Australia (Siana.Heath@orsgroup.com.au) Erin Bowcock, ORS Group, Australia (Erin.Bowcock@orsgroup.com.au) Chris Barnett, ORS Group, Australia (Chris.Barnett@orsgroup.com.au)

265 – Mobile Kindy Fiji: Changing the face of early childhood development in the Pacific, one community at a time

Analesi Tuicaumia, Director of Child Benefit Fiji and Mobile Kindy, Fiji (analesi@childbenefitfiji.com) Temesia Tuicaumia, Education Specialist, Fiji (temesia.edu@gmail.com) Rachel Spackman, DFAT New Colombo Plan Scholar ...

266 – “Blast off”: Children’s cognition and imagination about the solar system through Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) based play

Shukla Sikder, Charles Sturt University, Australia(ssikder@csu.edu.au)

267 – Leading as a socially-just practice within early childhood education

Leanne Gibbs, Charles Sturt University, Australia (lgibbs@csu.edu.au)

268 – Parents’ perspectives on ECEC and family wellbeing during the COVID-19 pandemic in Victoria, Australia

Penny Levickis, The University of Melbourne, Australia (penny.levickis@unimelb.edu.au) Lisa Murray, The University of Melbourne, Australia (lisa.murray1@unimelb.edu.au) Lynn Lee-Pang, The University of Melbourne, Australia (liee@unimelb.edu.au) Patricia ...

269 – Indigenous culture promotes children’s STEAM learning through play in early childhood education settings

Shukla Sikder, Charles Sturt University, Australia (ssikder@csu.edu.au) Courtney Glazebrook, Charles Sturt University, Australia (cglazebrook@csu.edu.au) Muhammad Alamgir Hossain, Macquarie University, Australia (muhammad.hossain1@students.mq.edu.au)

270 – LEARN: Essential elements of museum education programs for young children

Sarah Young, REEaCH Centre, Melbourne Graduate School of Education, The University of Melbourne, Australia (sry@unimelb.edu.au) Patricia Eadie, REEaCH Centre, Melbourne Graduate School of Education, The ...

271 – Playing with digital toys can be part of children’s imaginative play-worlds

Kristín Dýrfjörð, University of Akureyri (dyr@unak.is)

272 – Conceptualisations of wellbeing in early childhood education and care: Where is literacy?

Lisa Baker, University of Melbourne, Australia (lisa.baker@unimelb.edu.au)

273 – Followership and following practices in early childhood education

Melinda Brooker, Charles Sturt University, Australia (mbrooker@csu.edu.au)

274 – A literature review on understanding children’s (5 to 12 years) 21st century skills development through STEM education

Mohammad Alamgir Hossain, Charles Sturt University, Australia (mohossain@csu.edu.au) Lena Danaia, Charles Sturt University, Australia (LDanaia@csu.edu.au) Shukla Sikder, Charles Sturt University, Australia (ssikder@csu.edu.au)

275 – Influences on bilingual speech development: A longitudinal Vietnamese-English case study

Kate Margetson, Charles Sturt University, Australia (kmargetson@csu.edu.au) Sharynne McLeod, Charles Sturt University, Australia (smcleod@csu.edu.au) Sarah Verdon, Charles Sturt University, Australia (sverdon@csu.edu.au)

276 – Assessing the validity of FOCUS-ÍS: A parent report questionnaire of functional communication development of 4-year-old children

Ösp Vilberg Baldursdóttir, University of Iceland, Iceland (ovb2@hi.is) Thora Másdóttir, University of Iceland, Iceland (tm@hi.is) Kathryn Crowe, University of Iceland, Iceland; Charles Sturt University, Australia ...

277 – Little architects develop STEM concepts through block play: An analysis of everyday play using cultural-historical lens

Anamika Devi, RMIT University, Australia (anamika.devi@rmit.edu.au) Shukla Sikder, Charles Sturt University, Australia (ssikder@csu.edu.au) Wendy Goff, RMIT University, Australia (wendy.goff@rmit.edu.au)

278 – Enhancing language development in early education

Kathryn Marrington, Goodstart Early Learning, Australia (kmarrington@goodstart.org.au) Tiffany Noble, Goodstart Early Learning, Australia (tnoble@goodstart.org.au) Annie McAuley, TalkiPlay, Australia (annie@talkiplay.com) Penny Markham, Goodstart Early Learning, Australia ...

279 – Sustainable development through STEM in early childhood education: A narrative analysis using cultural-historical theory

Sabira Sultana, Charles Sturt University, Australia (ssultana@csu.edu.au) Lena Danaia, Charles Sturt University, Australia (LDanaia@csu.edu.au) Shukla Sikder, Charles Sturt University, Australia (ssikder@csu.edu.au)

280 – Educator networks enhancing children’s transition to school in rural areas

Jessamy Davies, Charles Sturt University, Australia (jdavies@csu.edu.au)

281 – Partnering with families to pursue Sustainable Development Goals: Screening for unmet social needs in paediatric speech-language pathology

Lauren Hamill, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Australia (Lauren.Hamill@health.nsw.gov.au) Anna Kearns, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Australia (Anna.Kearns@health.nsw.gov.au) Meghan Hesse, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Australia (Meghan.Hesse@health.nsw.gov.au) Daina Frederick, Sydney Children’s ...

283 – Children’s voices matter

Kate Beveridge, City of Greater Dandenong, Australia (kate.beveridge@cgd.vic.gov.au)

285 – Working together to develop the Early Childhood Hearing and talking Observations (ECHO) checklist with and for early childhood educators

Isabel O’Keeffe, National Acoustic Laboratories, Australia (isabel.okeeffe@nal.gov.au) Sanna Hou, National Acoustic Laboratories, Australia (sanna.hou@nal.gov.au) Michelle Saetre-Turner, Dyslexia-SPELD Foundation (michellesaetre-turner@dsf.net.au) Carmen Kung, National Acoustic Laboratories, Australia ...

288 – Supporting children’s recovery from bushfires

Nicole McGill, Charles Sturt University, Australia (nmcgill@csu.edu.au) Michael Curtin, Charles Sturt University, Australia (mcurtin@csu.edu.au) Julia A. White, Royal Far West, Australia (juliaw@royalfarwest.org.au) Sarah Eagland, Royal ...

289 – Effectiveness of personalised intervention on phonological awareness, alphabetic principle and rapid automated naming (RAN) in a bilingual child with reading difficulties

Juana Muñoz López, University of Granada (CIMCYC-UGR), Spain (jmunoz@ugr.es) Laura Herrera Leyva, Speech-language pathologist, Spain(lauraherreralogopedia@mail.com) Dunia Garrido del Águila, University of Granada, Spain (duniag@ugr.es)

290 – How does home language environment impact 4- to 6-year-old Chinese children’s reading comprehension?

Daoyue Wang, Shanghai Normal University, China (paloma_wong@163.com) Linhui Li, Shanghai Normal University, China (lhli@shnu.edu.cn)

291 – Upskilling Community Champions to support service access

Nazish Khan, Merri Health, Australia (nazish.khan@merrihealth.org.au) Kat Thorn, Merri Health, Australia (kat.thorn@merrihealth.org.au)

292 – Professional development of rural preschool teachers in a rural kindergarten in Jiangsu Province, China

Yuting Yin, Shanghai Normal University, China (18136238083@163.com)

293 – Amplifying children’s voice on children’s rights in the Indonesian context

Elga Andriana, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia (elga.andriana@ugm.ac.id) Ririn Yuniasih, Ministry of Education, Culture, Research and Technology, Indonesia (ririn.yuniasih@gmail.com) Laila Ningtyas, Early Childhood Care and Development ...

294 – A photovoice study of emotional dynamics in Indonesian children with dyslexia

Pahru Rozi, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia (pahrurozi@mail.ugm.ac.id Agnes Angelina Paramita, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia (agnesangelina01@mail.ugm.ac.id) Argya Zahra Rapul Hanisi, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia (argyarhanisi@mail.ugm.ac.id) Nadia ...

296 – WITHDRAWN – Analysis of 30 childcare policy texts from provincial governments in China under the three-child policy

Yingxin Bai, Shanghai Normal University, China (beryl19970711@126.com ) Cong Wei, Shanghai Normal university, China (snuweicong@163.com )

297 – Being Aboriginal: Australian Aboriginal children’s voices during the early years of school

Lysa Dealtry, Charles Sturt University, Australia (ldealtry@csu.edu.au)

298 – From ‘I like talking to my Mammy’ to ‘I don’t talk at school’: Understanding the lives of children with speech sound disorders using mixed methods

Clare Carroll, University of Galway, Ireland (c.carroll@universityofgalway.ie) Rena Lyons, University of Galway, Ireland (rena.lyons@universityofgalway.ie) Mary Larkin, University of Galway, Ireland (m.larkin13@universityofgalway.ie) Mary-Pat O’Malley, University of ...

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

The work of the Early Childhood Research Group supports SDGs 3, 4, 8, 10 (and others). Each presentation was aligned with relevant United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

css.php
Scroll to Top